Buster the German Shorthaired Pointer

Adoptable GSP in Texas

Hey, I Can Bark!

Posted by Lucy The English Pointer on July 31, 2011

I’ve been pretty quiet since I’ve been here.  A little whining now and then while I got used to the routine, but never barked.  Well today I found my inner bark and let me tell you it came out in a big way.  Foster Mom and Dad had some friends over for dinner tonight.  Since it was hot out and I am on restricted activity (I’ll get to that later), I was left indoors, inside in my crate and Simon was on his bed across from me.  While Simon was catching some shut-eye (he’s old, he sleeps a lot), I was tuning up my voice.  I started with some really high-pitched stuff just to loosen the vocal chords and then went into full-bark-mode.  I was not going to leave anyone in any doubt about how I felt about being left out of the party.  I mean really…how can you have a party without the ultimate Party Animal?  I’ve never seen Foster Mom so annoyed.  I admit I was a bit loud, but if they’d just let be me outside with the rest of the gang I would have been fine.  The problem…I’m not getting my usual amount of exercise.  The solution…let me do what I want all the time!  Ok, maybe that won’t be a popular choice among my Foster Parents.  They are very adamant on this whole keep-him-quiet-thing due to heartworm treatment.  I thought I could handle the leash, the confinement, etc, but it’s a lot harder than I thought it would be.  Foster Mom said I might need something to take away some of my anxiety while I’m on crate-rest.  She said she’d talk to me tomorrow about it so we’ll see what happens.

Every time I’m asleep I have dreams about running around the yard for hours and never tiring out.  Another few weeks and I’ll have my active life back.  I was a much happier guy when I could run and play and chase things.  I know, patience.  I’m trying, really I am, but it’s hard.

Pool party? Did my invitation get lost?

Leave a Reply

 
